Who can get a card
The Astoria Public Library is supported by city property taxes, and residents of the city are not required to pay an additional fee for library membership. Nonresidents who own property within the city, and who annually show proof of having paid Astoria property taxes, are also eligible for library membership at no additional cost. Otherwise, persons who reside outside of Astoria city limits may purchase library membership for their households at the following rates*:
- $18 for a three-month period
- $33 for a six-month period
- $60 for a twelve-month period
Free library cards for Clatsop County kids
A non-profit organization allows Astoria, Seaside, and Warrenton libraries to fund Libraries ROCC (Rural Outreach in Clatsop County), a program designed to extend services to any "out of town" children who do not have access to a tax supported library. Click here to learn more.
Oregon Library Passport Program
Astoria Public Library participates in the Oregon Library Passport Program, a program allowing card-holders from participating libraries to register and use other participating libraries across the state. Click here to learn more.
How to Get Your Card
Patrons age 18 and older must display proof of identity and address in order to obtain a library card. The following forms of proof are accepted.
Proof of identity
Mexican matrícula consular ID
Proof of address (if ID card does not display current address)
Property tax statement dated within the last year*
Utility bill dated within the last month*
Current lease or rental agreement*
*name of applicant must appear on the bill or statement
For patrons age 15 and younger, a parent or legal guardian must come to the library in order to show ID and proof of address, and to sign the borrower's agreement before a card can be issued. The adult will be the responsible party on the account.
Patrons age 16 or older may obtain a card by meeting the ID and proof of address requirements for adults, as listed above. Identification and address documentation may also include school photo ID and documents.
Loan Periods, Renewals and Holds
Local history, Reference materials, newspapers and current magazine issues are available for in-library use only. New items check out for 21 days and cannot be renewed. All other items check out for 21 days, and can be renewed once so long as they are not on hold for another patron.
Items may be renewed in person, by phone, or on the Library website. Patrons can also place holds on items by speaking to library staff or by accessing their accounts online. Please have your library card available when checking out, renewing items, or accessing your account in any way.
Library Fines and Fees
- Adult Items -- $.25 per day
- Youth Collections--no overdue charges
- Lost and Damaged Items -- charges for lost or damaged items will be the cost of the item plus a $3.00 processing fee.
- Replacement Fee for Lost Library Card -- $6.00